Crashed my way through Crysis

The regular edition box. Prophet and me enjoying the view of the waterfall.
Onslaught was one heck of a level. Nanosuit vs nanosuit, minigun vs minigun.  The world isn't big enough for both of us.
The zero G environment were some of the prettiest. Hunting aliens in winterland...
The only thing better than choking a KPA is choking an alien. Fighting the final boss.

Stalking around in invisible mode and shooting enemies in the back was delightfully satisfying…
…until Crysis crashed.
Destroying tanks after tanks with my own was highly exciting…
…until Crysis crashed.
The alien environment was ceaselessly marvelous while floating through in zero gravity…
…until. Crysis. Crashed.
And so that is how I played through Crysis, in 10-30 minute segments before the game would abruptly end my fun by freezing up. They were not hard crashes, as I could escape by bringing up the task manager and force closing the game, and then refiring up Crysis again. This whole process artificially extended the length of the game. The game would also occasionally freeze up while trying to load save games, or while any adjustments to the video settings were made. My computer could not be in better shape: I updated all my drivers and Vista, no presence of virus/spyware/trojans, registry cleaned, hard drive defragmented with more than half is empty space, and yet Crysis inexplicably and incurably crashes. There are numerous accounts in various Crysis forums that echo my experience. What bothers me is that there is no support, not even a word of assurance, from EA or Crytek to sooth this (or any) complaint. Not good.
Coincidentally, I read the “exclusive review” of Crysis in the latest issue of PCGamer, and I just have to vehemently disagree with their “review”. They gave Crysis 98%, and bearing in mind that in years past the same magazine gave the original Half-Life a score of 97%. It boggles my mind how a game that is merely evolutionary (pushing the limits of graphics) received greater praise than a game that was revolutionary (proving that FPS can tell an immersive story). Not to mention the review omitted reoccurring problems that many people are going through. PCGamer’s brib…er exclusive reviews has always been questionable, but never this blatant. I have been a subscriber to the magazine for years, but their latest issue makes me ashamed of reading PCGamer. I think it is about time I let my subscription expire, after all, The Vede is gone.
Crysis was mostly what I expected. Beneath the supermodel exterior there is a decent shooter. I really wanted to like this game, I really did. It is a pity that bugs and absent support has to taint the experience.

Published in: on November 28, 2007 at 9:31 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://muirwoods.wordpress.com/2007/11/28/crashed-my-way-through-crysis/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment