Persona Trinity Soul after episode 01 – First Impressions

With his androgynous appearence and feminine voice, I thought Jun was a girl in the first few minutes. Here in Canada we throw crude rock salt on the roads to melt the ice.
Ryou's 'persona'. Shin's 'persona' to the right.

The first episode introduced me to the world of Persona, where some people possess combat ready spirit-like entities. Also we are acquainted with the Kanzato family, who are hinted to have a past that could be a fertile source of character development or exposition. Because the anime is my first exposure to Persona’s universe, the episode raised many questions in my mind. That is a good thing for a first episode to do since it entices the viewers to follow for answers. However, since Persona Trinity Soul takes place ten years after the events of Persona 3, I wonder if I am making the mistake of watching the anime without having played any of the games. This series could be a show specifically targeted for those who are both anime and Persona game fans. If so, then I could be at a disadvantage when certain happenstances are dependent on the knowledge or history of the game, and some of my questions might never be addressed in the anime. I will watch a few more episodes to see if Persona Trinity Soul appeals to a broader audience. If not, then the series will have to make a stronger effort to keep me watching.

Published in: on January 10, 2008 at 8:46 pm  Comments (1)