Seirei no Moribito after episode 26 – Final Thoughts

A teenage Balsa. One down...
...several hundred to go. Farewell hug.  I wish I was Chagum at this moment...

Seirei no Moribito choose perhaps the most plausibly positive note for its ending. I was expecting a much darker end, with more death and depression. But having Chagum survive is acceptable too, because I like Chagum. He showed immense maturity in rejecting Balsa’s offer. It takes a strong will and wisdom beyond his years to do that. There is no doubt he will become a revered king. I like Chagum enough that I think he is the son I want but never had (yet). And the same goes for Balsa, but replace the word “son” with “mother“.
When I first began to watch Seirei no Moribito, the battles in the first few episodes misled me to believe that it was going to be an action packed show sparsely inter-spaced with story. It turned out to be exactly the opposite; Seirei no Moribito is very plot driven, with the emphasis on talking than fighting. However, the narrative moves steadily, sometimes at a slice of life pace, and at those times the show’s enjoyment strongly hinges on one’s disposition for the characters. Fortunately I found the “family on the run” greatly likable, so I never found any episodes a chore to finish. While the majority of shows does well in one or two areas, this anime excelled in many: story, characters, writing, and animation. Although it is by no means perfect, it stands eminently above the rest. Seirei no Moribito is one of the better, if not best, animes of this year.

Published in: on October 19, 2007 at 5:43 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://muirwoods.wordpress.com/2007/10/19/seirei-no-moribito-after-episode-26-final-thoughts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Picture source: https://muirwoods.wordpress.com/2007/10/19/seirei-no-moribito-after-episode-26-final-thoughts/ […]


Leave a comment