Windows 7 Beta – First Impressions

Windows 7 beta was officially made available to the general public yesterday. As a computer technician, there is good incentive to be informed of popular and useful software. Windows 7, perhaps the most eminent software in development currently, is on the horizon, so I felt a deep obligation to try out Microsoft’s next operating system. I actually have already spent a few days toying with Windows 7 beta, as I downloaded the leaked version, which was available on torrent sites about two weeks ago.
I installed the 32 bit build 7000 Windows 7 beta on an old computer of mine. It would not be too far off to say Windows 7 is Vista: light version. Windows 7’s kernel is based on Vista’s, albeit modified. Window 7 beta also has a much smaller memory and storage footprint compared to Vista. Although other factors such as start up programs and hardware components may affect the numbers found in those pictures, the difference is still quite large enough to be plausibly attributable to code that has been trimmed in Windows 7. Microsoft has clearly addressed the criticism of Vista being too bloated and demanding in Windows 7, causing some to say Windows 7 is “the Vista that was suppose to be”. There is no doubt the more compact flavours of Windows 7 will run on laptops and netbooks, effectively replacing the beloved Windows XP at every computer category from high to low end.
There are myriads other new features and changes that are too numerous to mention here. I have not formed any positive or negative disposition regarding Windows 7 due to the short amount of time I have spent with it. I do not plan to use Windows 7 beta as my main operating system just yet. For now Windows 7 beta shall remain as an ongoing curiosity until its inevitable maturity.

Published in: on January 10, 2009 at 9:58 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://muirwoods.wordpress.com/2009/01/10/windows-7-beta-first-impressions/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I was in the same boat, not fully switching over to Win 7 just yet, but after a few days I’m seriously considering it. I’m really really happy with the performance jump and networking enhancements. HomeGroup has been a huge hit with me… not sure how many people will find it helpful but I sure like it.


Leave a comment